Rugby World Cup 2024, Venues, Prize Money, Winners List Of All Seasons

Rugby World Cup 2024- The Rugby World Cup 2024 is a big deal in the world of rugby. It’s like the Olympics of rugby, where countries from all over the world come together to compete. It’s happening in France, and it’s going to be a massive event with lots of exciting matches. People who love rugby are really excited about it, and it’s a chance for countries to show off their best rugby players. It’s a big deal for sports fans, and it’s going to be a memorable tournament full of amazing moments. Now, let’s explore it further and learn more about what makes it so special.

Rugby World Cup 2024

The Rugby World Cup is a global sporting extravaganza that captures the hearts of rugby enthusiasts worldwide. The Rugby World Cup 2024 is highly anticipated, scheduled to run from September 2024 to October 2024. Hosted every four years, the 2024 edition will take place in France, a country with a rich rugby heritage. Teams from various nations will compete in a series of intense matches, with the ultimate goal of lifting the prestigious Webb Ellis Cup.

The tournament showcases top-tier rugby talent, featuring scrums, lineouts, thrilling tries, and hard-hitting tackles. Winning a rugby match not only brings glory but also a substantial cash prize. While the prize money has increased gradually over the years, it remains a significant incentive for the victorious teams.

Check Also:ICC Cricket ODI World Cup 2024 Schedule (New Dates)

Rugby World Cup 2024 Overview

Article Name Rugby World Cup 2024
Host Nation France
Dates September – October 2024
Number of Nations 20
Nations Names France, England, Ireland, Australia, Japan, New Zealand, South Africa, Wales, Scotland, Argentina, Fiji, Italy, Tonga, Samoa, Canada, Georgia, Uruguay, USA, Namibia and Russia
Tournament Statistics
Matches played 8
Attendance 429,370 (53,671 per match)
Tries Scored 50 (average 6.25 per match)
Top Performers
Top Scorer(s) England’s George Ford (27)
Most Tries Ireland’s Bundee Aki, Tadhg Beirne; Australia’s Ben Donaldson; Japan’s Amato Fakatava; Ireland’s Peter O’Mahony, Johnny Sexton; New Zealand’s Mark Telea (2 tries each)
Category Sports
Official Website Click Here

Check Also: Top 10 Most Popular Football Players List In 2024

 History of Rugby World Cup

  • The 2024 Rugby World Cup, happening in France from September to October 2024, is the tenth edition of the men’s Rugby World Cup, where national teams compete for glory. This time, it’s all in France, a historic first. The matches are spread across nine venues, with the opening and final games at the Stade de France, near Paris. It’s taking place 200 years after the sport’s “invention” by William Webb Ellis.
  • Originally, the tournament was set for six weeks, but it was extended in February 2021 to ensure players have enough rest. France has hosted twice before, in 2007 and in 1991 alongside England, Ireland, Scotland, and Wales. This Rugby World Cup comes before the 2024 Summer Olympics in Paris.
  • South Africa, the defending champions, won the 2019 Rugby World Cup. This year, we see newcomers Chile and Portugal returning after 16 years since their debut in 2007. In terms of host selection, France won the bid on November 15, 2017, over South Africa and Ireland. France launched its bid on February 9, 2017.

Check Also Best Boxing Champions In The World 2024


City Stadium Capacity
Paris (Saint-Denis) Stade de Franceab 80,023
Marseille Stade Vélodromea 67,847
Lyon (Décines-Charpieu) OL Stadium 58,883
Lille (Villeneuve-d’Ascq) Stade Pierre-Mauroy 50,096
Bordeaux Matmut Atlantique 42,115
Saint-Étienne Stade Geoffroy-Guicharda 41,965
Nice Allianz Riviera 35,983
Nantes Stade de la Beaujoirea 35,520
Toulouse Stadium de Toulouseab 33150

Read Also: India ODI World Cup 2024 Schedule 2024

 Prize Money

Standings Payout Teams
Champion $6 million 1
Finalists $3 million 1
Semi-Finalists $1.5 million 2
Quarter-Finalists $750,000 4
Pool-Stage $300,000 20
Total Payout $20 million


The total prize money for the Rugby World Cup 2024 has not been officially confirm yet. However, in the previous edition, a total purse of $20 million was distribute among the participating teams. It is anticipate that the prize money for this year’s tournament will surpass the 2019 edition, making it an even more enticing competition for the teams competing at various stages.

Check Also Best MotoGP Riders In The World 2024

 Pool Stage Of Rugby World Cup

  • Competing countries are divided into four pools, labeled as Pools A to D.
  • Each pool consists of five teams.
  • Teams within each pool play against each other in a round-robin format, meaning each team plays every other team in their pool once.
Pool A Pool B Pool C Pool D
New Zealand South Africa Wales England
France Ireland Australia Japan
Italy Scotland Fiji Argentina
Uruguay Tonga Georgia Samoa
Namibia Romania Portugal Chile

Points Allocation in Pool Stage:-

  • Four points are award for a win.
  • Two points are award for a draw.
  • A try bonus point is award to teams that score four or more tries in a match.
  • A losing bonus point is award to teams that lose a match by seven or fewer points.

Teams that advance to the quarter-finals and qualify for the 2027 Rugby World Cup are indicated, and those eliminated but qualified for the 2027 Rugby World Cup are also noted in the table.

Rugby World Cup All Winners List (1987-2019)

Year Winner Runner-Up Host Captain
1987 New Zealand France Australia and New Zealand David Kirk
1991 Australia England UK and France Nick Farr-Jones
1995 South Africa New Zealand South Africa Francois Pienaar
1999 Australia France Wales John Eales
2003 England Australia Australia Martin Johnson
2007 South Africa England France John Smit
2011 New Zealand France New Zealand Richie McCaw
2015 New Zealand Australia England Richie McCaw
2019 South Africa England Japan Siya Kolisi

Read AlsoTop 10 Best Boxing Champions In The World 2024


The Rugby World Cup 2024 has been an exciting showcase of rugby talent and global sportsmanship. Held entirely in France, this tournament has brought nations together in the spirit of competition. From thrilling pool matches to the intense knockout rounds, fans have witnessed incredible moments on the field. This edition is special as it coincides with the bicentenary of rugby’s “invention” by William Webb Ellis. With diverse teams and unique styles, the competition has been fierce. As we anticipate the final at Stade de France, we celebrate not only the champion but also rugby’s enduring spirit that unites people worldwide and inspires athletes to excel.


When and where is the Rugby World Cup 2024 taking place?

The Rugby World Cup 2024 is being held in France and runs from September to October, 2024.

How many teams are participating in the tournament?

A total of 20 teams are participating in the Rugby World Cup 2024.

What is the format of the tournament?

The tournament features a pool stage where teams are divide into four pools (A to D). They play round-robin matches, with the top two from each pool advancing to the knockout stage.

Where will the final match be held?

The final match of the Rugby World Cup 2024 will take place at the Stade de France, located north of Paris.

How is the prize money distribute in the Rugby World Cup?

Prize money is award to teams based on their performance, with the champion receiving the highest payout. Specifics of the prize money distribution can vary from year to year.

How is the tournament related to the history of rugby?

The 2024 Rugby World Cup coincides with the bicentenary of rugby's invention by William Webb Ellis, adding historical significance to the event.

Latest Articles:-

UFC 285 Jones Vs Gane 2024

MMA Schedule 2024

Top 10 Best Boxing Champions In The World 2024

Leave a Comment